Cart 0

Spine and Vertebrae

This section includes all medical illustrations relating to the spine and its vertebrae.

The normal anatomy of the spine is usually described by dividing up the spine into three major sections: the cervical, the thoracic, and the lumbar spine.  

Classified as follows:

  • 7 cervical vertebrae.
  • 12 thoracic vertebrae.
  • 5 lumbar vertebrae.

There are approximately 220 ligaments, 120 muscles that are related to controlling the motion of the spine.